We're Building A Better Tri-State Together
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
WNIN and IPBS election coverage.

Vanderburgh County Vote Counting Could End Thursday


Officials hope to wrap-up vote counting in Vanderburgh County on Thursday.

In a release Wednesday night, County Clerk Carla Hayden said bipartisan ballot teams working for the Election Office completed their review of the more than 40,000 ballots that were cast at early voting sites.

Hayden said ballots determined to be cast validly are still being electronically counted.  She expects a final, unofficial count of votes cast in Vanderburgh County Thursday afternoon.

By Indiana law, official election results cannot be determined until Friday, November 13, for provisional ballots and any remaining ballot issues to be resolved by the Election Board.

With Election Day ballots, mail-in ballots, and what Hayden calls a “substantial portion” of the early voting ballots now counted, the incumbent Republican clerk had a nearly 10,000 vote lead over her Democratic challenger Sloan Standley; incumbent GOP County Recorder Debbi Stuckey had a big lead over Democratic challenger Ken McWilliams; and incumbent Democrat Ben Shoulders opened up a 52-47 percent lead over Republican Zac Rascher for a Vanderburgh County Commissioner seat.

In the District 77 Indiana House race, incumbent Democrat Ryan Hatfield had a commanding lead over Republican challenger Gregory Peete.

In the County Council race, the top three vote getters as of Thursday morning were Republicans Joe Kiefer and Jill Ann Hahn, and Democrat Mike Goebel.

And in the EVSC School Board race, the top two vote getters were newcomer Amy Word and long-time incumbent Terry Gamblin.

Related Content