We're Building A Better Tri-State Together
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
WNIN and IPBS election coverage.

Vanderburgh Voters Elect New Council Member Hahn, School Board Member Word


The Vanderburgh County Election Office has completed its vote counting.

The tabulation of more than 40,000 ballots that were cast early ended nearly 48 hours after the polls closed.

Thursday’s final, unofficial results show Republican Vanderburgh County Clerk Carla Hayden easily won re-election over Democratic challenger Sloan Standley; incumbent GOP County Recorder Debbi Stuckey soundly defeated Democratic challenger Ken McWilliams; and incumbent Democrat County Commissioner Ben Shoulders beat Republican challenger Zac Rascher by about 52-to-48 percent.

In the County Council race, Republican incumbent Joe Kiefer and Democrat Mike Goebel (GAY-bull) won re-election, while GOP newcomer Jill Ann Hahn defeated Republican incumbent Angela Koehler-Lindsey. Democrats Ed Bassemier and Amy Back also fell short

In the District 77 Indiana House race, incumbent Democrat Ryan Hatfield of Evansville cruised past Republican challenger Greg Peete.

In the non-partisan EVSC School Board race, voters elected business owner Amy Word and long-time incumbent Terry Gamblin. Incumbent Jeff Worthington and newcomer Ruth Baize were defeated.

More: By Indiana law, official election results cannot be determined until Friday, November 13, for provisional ballots and any remaining ballot issues to be resolved by the Election Board.