We're Building A Better Tri-State Together
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Vanderburgh County Council Chooses New Leadership, Sorta

Isaiah Seibert

With the new year comes new leadership for the Vanderburgh County Council, which made its decisions at its first meeting of the year Wednesday afternoon.

Council leadership shuffled positions, but no new member joined the fiscal body’s upper ranks.

In two unanimous votes, Joe Kiefer was chosen to be council president for 2019.  Angela Koehler Lindsey is the new vice president.

Kiefer has previously served as council president and last year was vice president.

In one of his first acts in his new position, Kiefer named committee chairpersons. Jim Raben will continue to serve as the chair of the council’s finance committee. Last year’s council president John Montrastelle will chair the personnel committee, which was Koehler Lindsey's job last year.  

Jeffrey Ahlers will continue as council attorney, an appointed position he’s held since 1997.

Overall, the makeup of the county council hasn’t changed. Four members of council were up for re-election in 2018. All but one ran unopposed. Montrastelle, a Republican, won re-election. He beat Democrat Glen Miller by more than twelve points.