We're Building A Better Tri-State Together
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

ETA Endorses 6 School Board Candidates

Evansville Teachers Association

Just 4 seats are open this fall

The Evansville Teachers Association has announced its slate of endorsed candidates for the EVSC School Board. WNIN’s John Gibson reports:

The ETA said all 14 candidates for four open seats on the Board of Trustees were invited to participate in the endorsement process, and 12 chose to do so.

The union says school board members need to have “adequate experience” to serve on a governing board of a nearly $300 million corporation, and they need to value a strong and vibrant public school system.

To that end, the Teachers Association endorsed candidates Chris Kiefer, Mike Duckworth, Melissa Moore, Andy Guarino, Jeff Worthington, and David Hollingsworth.

The association says it realizes it’s endorsed more candidates than have open seats, but the group says all would be strong school board members who will make decisions in the best interests of students and teachers in the EVSC.