We're Building A Better Tri-State Together
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

County Residents Dropped from Utility Bill Relief Program

Steve Burger

Qualified city residents can receive a $10 break on monthly water and sewer bills

Vanderburgh County residents who live outside the Evansville city limits are not eligible for a new water and sewer bill relief program. WNIN’s John Gibson reports:

The Evansville Water and Sewer Utility made two changes to the program that was recently announced.

The utility says the monthly credit is increasing from $3 to $10 a month, and the eligibility requirements have been revised to exclude County residents.

The changes are due to the Evansville City Council's vote on using the City's allocation of American Rescue Plan funds. Customers who reside in the city limits with an active water account and have a household income of $50,000 or less may qualify for assistance. Customers who apply and qualify will receive a $10 monthly credit applied to their account each month for one year.

The credit offsets the 2022 water rate increase that goes into effect tomorrow (Fri).

After one year, customers may have the opportunity to reapply for the program for another 12 months – or while the funds last.

Residents can apply at ewsu.com/BillRelief