AP Awards

Community honored at Associated Press events

Apr 15, 2018
Steve Burger / WNIN-FM

From quick, clear reporting on a police-involved shooting, to quality health reporting,  ¿Qué Pasa Midwest? and our year long investigation into the impact of the crime of a trusted court expert, our community's support for high quality, local news was honored over the weekend.

In addition to national recognition with finalist placements in the national contests sponsored by the Scripps Howard Foundation and the Investigative Reporters and Editors group, WNIN was honored with statewide honors in Indiana and Kentucky for reporting in 2017.

Community honored at 2017 IN AP awards

Apr 16, 2017

During ceremonies Saturday in Indianapolis, WNIN-FM received eight awards in the annual Indiana Associated Press news contest. In Indiana, WNIN competes in the large market division, which also includes entries from Indianapolis, Chicago, Louisville, Ft. Wayne and South Bend.

WNIN was honored with awards in several categories for specific stories and programs, such as the Dubois County avian flu outbreak and ¿Qué Pasa Midwest? The community's public radio organization also received recognition for John Gibson in the Best Reporter category and for overall excellence.

WNIN honored for Indiana, Kentucky news coverage

May 2, 2016

 Thanks to your support for high quality journalism, WNIN-FM is proud to bring significant recognition back to the community in 2016. 

For the second year in a row, WNIN-FM was named the top local radio news operation in Indiana by the Associated Press.  In making their choice, the judges said that, "All stories in the entry were well put together. Good use of sound and delivery with all stories and reporters."

Community honored in 2015 news contests

Apr 21, 2015

As your community-licensed public radio station, WNIN is happy to announce that Evansville and the Tri-State were well represented in Indiana, Kentucky and nationally this spring with several significant awards in news contests.  

At the 2015 Indiana Associated Press Broadcaster's annual banquet: